Thai Thai Again: Traveling from Buddha to Buda until Big Ben Chimed

Come along for the Ride: No Suitcase is Required

Thailand’s Golden Triangle glistened

Image

Thailand’s Golden Triangle connects Laos, Thailand and Myanmar and today brought me from Chiang Rai to the northern border. My first stop was the Hall of Opium that I had visited on my first trip to Thailand but soggy Songkran apparel put a ‘damper’ on the day. Today I found a museum in a picturesque setting that serves as a history but also a precautionary tale to the dangers of the drug.

Image

While touring the museum, I came across the following quote that resonated with me ‘What is life? It is the flash of a firefly in the night. It is the breath of a buffalo in the wintertime. It is the little shadow which runs across the grass and loses itself in the sunset’ reminding us how fleeting life can be and the importance to ‘Carpe Diem’ each moment. 

From there it was time for lunch and to enjoy local cuisine in a scenic setting.  The Sriwan Restaurant serves fresh seafood and mountain views. 

Image

 Giant Buddhas, dragon boats and driving along the Mekong River made today’s motorbike adventure unforgettable. 

Image

Image

One comment on “Thailand’s Golden Triangle glistened

  1. GiGi
    November 23, 2013

    Loved it! I emailed it to the girls

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on November 23, 2013 by and tagged , , , , , .