Thai Thai Again: Traveling from Buddha to Buda until Big Ben Chimed

Come along for the Ride: No Suitcase is Required

Picturesque Phayao added a splash to my Sunday

Picturesque Phayao added a splash to my Sunday.

 

Picturesque Phayao added a splash to my Sunday

Image

It’s no secret that on Sundays, I like to jump on my motorbike and go exploring. Today I journeyed to Phayao; the Thailand city is renowned for its lake and charming small town feel. Driving into town, I toured the wats before going lakeside.

Image

I joined picnickers down by the water and strolled along the park’s walkway. The mountains set the backdrop and the sunlight hit the water making it sparkle.

Image

After enjoying the view, it was time to find Kwan Road for their 40 baht khao soi that’s a local favorite.  Thanks to friendly locals, I found the spot and despite the time, the restaurant was already packed. Luckily a table was free and the waitress put a steaming bowl of soup in front of me. Looking around, everyone was sampling the spicy soup and it proved delicious as the reviews claimed.

Image

After touring the city, I started back as I wanted to stop at some attractions along the way. I came across a fairy-tale wat; the themed wat was reminiscent of the White Temple with colorful characters. I had the wat to myself and enjoyed the fanciful temple.

Image

Image

Heading home the green rice fields and mountains set the scene and made for a relaxing and tranquil return. The friendly locals and picturesque setting made this one of my favorite weekend trips.

Image

 

 

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on September 29, 2013 by and tagged , , , , , , , , , , .