Thai Thai Again: Traveling from Buddha to Buda until Big Ben Chimed

Come along for the Ride: No Suitcase is Required

Lulled into the Lampang lifestyle

Image

Entering Lampang feels like stepping back in time. The picturesque city is nestled deep in the Thai mountains where horse drawn carriages roam the streets. The Lanna and river-inspired architecture offer a sense of tranquility and reserving a spot at the Riverside Restaurant provides scenic views.

Image

What was to be a six hour day trip turned into a ten hour bike adventure over steep hills and mountain ranges. Despite a short trip, I wanted to see as much as possible while enjoying the serene setting.

Friends had mentioned the Riverside Restaurant and after a gentleman guided me (literally had me follow his motorcycle) to the Tipchong Hotel where I was able to leave my motorbike, I ventured to find the restaurant by foot. A half hour later and along the way I was able to see the park, the Chinese temple and good-hearted people help steer me in the right direction when I veered off course.

Image

Finally finding the restaurant, I quickly realized why the restaurant is rated; the view and pricing make it an idyllic setting. Of course, I had to sample the famed brick oven pizza and it lived up to its reputation.

After walking around the town, seeing the old clock tower and wats, it was time to go. I had a five hour trek home and when the sun set, the pitch black streets would prove dangerous. Although I left early, two hours from home, I couldn’t see in front of me and without light and facing potholed streets, I knew I had to come up with an alternative. Leaving on my turn signal casted a glow that gave me a faint glimpse of the road ahead but even that made for a slow journey; I was grateful when I saw The White Temple as I knew I was almost home!

Image

Mayhem and memories, my day trip to Lampang was certainly an adventure! 

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on September 23, 2013 by and tagged , , , , , , , , , , .