Thai Thai Again: Traveling from Buddha to Buda until Big Ben Chimed

Come along for the Ride: No Suitcase is Required

Doi Tung’s Royal Villa and Magnificent Garden

Image

My original plan of heading to the hidden caves was dampened by the weather. Despite the inclement weather, I jumped on my bike and hit the road. The sky darkened and poured but I kept going. Wet but determined I continued my ride, ready for an adventure.

Image

Veering from Mai Sai, I headed towards Doi Tung. The view that greeted me was breathtaking. At times I was above the clouds looking down at the city below. Arriving at the small province, it was like stepping back in time. The teak town was filled with flowers and a history that bequeathed their honor to the queen.

Image

Purchasing tickets to the Hall of Inspiration, Royal Villa and Gardens, I began my tour at the Gardens. The Doi Tung’s Gardens are famous for their scenic views and tranquil setting. The waterfalls, floral displays and mountain views made Doi Tung a place to add to any Thailand visit.

Image

After visiting the gardens, my camera’s battery died so I despite the beauty of the villa I wasn’t able to capture its splendor. After viewing the teak treasure I visited the Hall of Inspiration and learned about the venue’s history. Glancing out the window, I saw the rain picking up and knew it was time to go.

Making my way down the mountain, the rain pelted against my face hindering my sight but I knew I had to keep going as the roads at night would be perilous  Riding the brake, I continued down the rocky road and somewhere along the way veered off course. I found myself off the paved road and falling fast down the steep slope and luckily I was able to get my grasp my footing. Carefully I made my way down but it was a frightening journey. An hour later, reaching flat land, I was grateful to make it out of safely.

Stopping off at Big C, I treated myself to a shiny helmet (my old one was ‘ventilated’, broken down the middle) and a bottle of sparkling wine. Looking back, I’m glad I made the journey as strolling through the gardens made it an unforgettable day. 

Image

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on September 15, 2013 by and tagged , , , , , , , , , .